Para Rowers and ‘Project LA’ group selected for Great Britain at World Rowing Cup III 

A group comprising 36 Para and Project LA athletes have been selected to represent Great Britain at World Rowing Cup III in Poznan, Poland from 14-16 June 2024


Commenting on the team selection Louise Kingsley, British Rowing Director of Performance said: “Poznan is the last opportunity our Para athletes will have to race ahead of the Paralympic Games in Paris later this year. They produced stand out performances at the European Championships in Szeged in April, with all crews making the podium and I am looking forward to seeing them race at the World Cup.

“Despite the Paris Games fast approaching, we also have an eye on the 2028 LA Olympic and Paralympic Games, and World Cup III will see a development squad of athletes take to the water. Many of them have impressed at U23 level and are looking to break into the senior squad for the next cycle.”

Returning after winning their first championship title at the European Championships are Sam Murray and Annie Caddick in the PR3 Mixed double sculls (PR3 Mix 2x).

Hoping to maintain GB’s impressive thirteen year winning streak are Frankie Allen, Giedre Rakauskaite, Morgan Fice-Noyes, Ed Fuller and cox Erin Kennedy in the PR3 Mixed coxed four (PR3 Mix4+). World and double European champions Gregg Stevenson and Lauren Rowles are also back in the PR2 Mixed double sculls (PR2 Mix 2x).

Double World and double European bronze medallist Benjamin Pritchard is back as GBR1 in the PR1 men’s single sculls (PR1 M1x) where he is joined by Scotland’s Jake Woods as GBR2.

The Project LA Olympic group comprises ten boats.

George Bourne is back racing in the Men’s single sculls (M1x). George has impressed in this boat class so far this season, making the A final at World Cup I, the European Championships and the recent Final Olympic Qualification Regatta.

Dan Graham, Douwe de Graaf, Sam Bannister, Matt Rowe are GBR1 in the Men’s four (M4-), with Jack Prior, Miles Beeson, James Vogel, Tom Ballinger lining up as GBR2.

GBR1 Men’s pair (M2-) are James Doran and Matt Heywood and GBR2 are Jake Wincomb and Louis Nares while the GBR1 Men’s double sculls (M2x) will be Stephen Hughes and Cedol Dafydd with GBR2 of Rory Harris and Tobias Schröder.

The Women’s four (W4-) are Juliette Perry, Amelia Standing, Eleanor Brinkhoff and Martha Birtles. Lining up as GBR1 in the Women’s double sculls (W2x) are Jenny Bates and Freya Keto and Vwairé Obukohwo and Kathryn Mole as GBR2.

You can follow World Rowing Cup III across British Rowing social media channels and on our website, and on the World Rowing website. Racing will also be shown on BBC iPlayer and the BBC website.

The Great Britain crews racing at World Rowing Cup III in Poznan are:

Para Crews

PR3 Mixed coxed four (PR3 Mix 4+)

Frankie Allen (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Giedre Rakauskaite (Worcester RC)
Morgan Fice-Noyes (Molesey BC/Bradford upon Avon BC)
Ed Fuller (Reading University BC/Nautilus RC)
Erin Kennedy (cox) (Leander Club)
Coach: Nicola Benavente

PR3 mixed double sculls (PR3 Mix 2x)

Annie Caddick (Molesey BC)
Sam Murray (Molesey BC)
Coach: Nicola Benavente

PR2 mixed double sculls (PR2 Mix 2x)

Lauren Rowles (Birmingham RC)
Gregg Stevenson (Agecroft RC)
Coach: Nick Baker 

PR1 Men’s single sculls GBR1 (PR1 M1x)

Benjamin Pritchard (City of Swansea RC)
Coach: Nick Baker

PR1 Men’s single sculls GBR2 (PR1 M1x)

Jake Woods (Strathclyde Park RC)
Coach: Tom Young

Men’s Crews

Men’s single sculls (M1x)

George Bourne (Leander Club)

Men’s double sculls GBR1 (M2x)

Stephen Hughes (Leander Club/Maidenhead RC)
Cedol Dafydd (Leander Club/Bath University BC)

Men’s double sculls GBR2 (M2x)

Rory Harris (Leander Club)
Tobias Schröder (Leander Club/Oxford University BC)

Men’s pair GBR1 (M2-)

James Doran (Oxford University BC)
Matt Heywood (Oxford Brookes University BC)

Men’s pair GBR2 (M2-)

Jake Wincomb (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Louis Nares (Oxford Brookes University BC)

Men’s four GBR1 (M4-)

Dan Graham (Leander Club)
Douwe de Graaf (Leander Club)
Sam Bannister (Leander Club/Oxford Brookes University BC)
Matt Rowe (Leander Club/Oxford Brookes University BC)

Men’s four GBR2 (M4-)

Jack Prior (Leander Club/Calpe RC)
Miles Beeson (Leander Club)
James Vogel (Leander Club)
Tom Ballinger (Leander Club/Plymouth ARC)

Women’s Crews

Women’s four (W4-)

Juliette Perry (Leander Club)
Amelia Standing (Leander Club)
Eleanor Brinkhoff (Leander Club)
Martha Birtles (Oxford Brookes University BC)

Women’s double sculls GBR1 (W2x)

Jenny Bates (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Freya Keto (Thames RC)

Women’s double sculls GBR2 (W2x)

Vwairé Obukohwo (Twickenham RC)
Kathryn Mole (University of Birmingham BC/Leander Club)

World Rowing Cup III Coaching staff, Team Management and Support staff

Peter Sheppard, Head Coach – Project LA
Nick Baker, Head Coach – Para
Nicola Benavente, Para Coach
Tom Young, Para Coach and Regatta Support
Dan Harris, Lead Coach – World Cup III (Project LA)
Helen Brown, Lead Coach – Project LA (Sculling)
Brian Young, Lead Coach – Project LA (Sweep)
Vicky Spencer, Coach – Project LA
Matt Beechey, Coach – Project LA
Tom Dyson, Team Leader
Anna Liddell, Team Manager
Ann Redgrave, Doctor
Pat Dunleavy, Physiotherapist – Para
Becky Davison, Physiotherapist – Project LA
Shelley Wyatt, Communications and Media